If you Liked… Fates and Furies

I tore through Lauren Groff’s Fates and Furies in the final days of 2015, and it was a bit of a conflicted read for me.  I’m still not quite sure why I enjoyed it so much.  I do know that it was beautifully written (a language book, definitely), and I was very interested in the development of both main characters: Lotto and Mathilde.  I also thought it had some interesting things to say about luck and the meaning of success, and placed an unexpected lens on the idea of privilege.

fates-and-furies-book-cover

Lauren Groff said in a recent interview that she would describe her book as: ‘a novel that appears to be one thing, but cracks open to reveal another. A book that plays with ideas about privilege, female rage, creation, happiness, opera, destiny and, of course, marriage.’

Still thinking and feeling the book through… but as I was reading it, these were some other reads that echoed in my mind.

If you liked the intricate detail about creative people within a relationship and the ups and downs of their friendships over time, try The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger.

If you liked the disparity between his and hers perspectives, and reading to find the truth in the middle, plus slowly revealed psychological motivation, try Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn or try watching The Affair, created by Hagai Levi and Sarah Treem.

If you liked the high end literary chick lit feel of Fates and Furies, try Beautiful Ruins by Jess Walter.

If you liked the many references to theatre and culture, and that this a book about the process of writing, try Wonder Boys by Michael Chabon.

If you liked that this was a book about family secrets, try Did You Ever Have a Family by Bill Clegg.

 

 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s